Video Project Rough Draft

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3APCtX0nTY

This is a rough draft for my video project. I opened it with images of prison and dramatic music in hopes to engage the audience from the get-go. I think I managed to do this by drawing on people’s emotions. I am still adding pieces from videos I have found on YouTube. I have many clips on there now that I need to edit and/or take out. They are in no certain order so I will need to edit them for my final project. I just wanted to place them in the video so I knew which ones I liked best out of all my options. I am also new to iMovie so I’m not sire if there’s another way around this.

I wanted to have a real prisoner’s experience in the video, so I am lucky to have found a Creative Commons video with a formerly incarcerated man speaking about his experience in prison. The purpose of my piece is to educate people about solitary confinement, the mental effects it has on prisoners, and how it has been a breeding ground for keeping people with mental illness confined in tight spaces in an inhumane way.

By watching the video, I hope people will take action to start ending it or maybe start learning about the prison system in general and its wrongdoings. Some hardships I have had when making this were finding videos and changing my storyboard. I originally wanted to include prisoners’ stories but thought that was a bit unethical. I also was not finding many pictures or videos of prisoners and/or solitary confinement on Creative Commons, so I needed to come up with alternatives.

Questions for peers:

  • does the music transition well (violin to piano)?
  • Is something missing from the video?

http://solitarywatch.com/facts/faq/

This piece that I found is about solitary confinement – what is is, who gets placed there, how many people are there, what it’s like to live there, etc. Currently between 80,000 and 100,000 people in the United States are living in solitary confinement. Most cells are between 6×9 and 8×10, which is quite small for a person to be spending on average 23 hours a day in there with little to nothing to do. It is a space that fosters the brain to become inactive, especially the brain’s sensory receptors. As humans, we need physical interaction from other humans (i.e. nurturing). In the environment of solitary confinement, none of this is had, which eventually leads to mental deterioration, especially if prisoners are not mentally stable in the first place.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/susannahbreslin/2017/02/09/prison-documentary-solitary/#2c4978a716b6

This article is about a recent documentary that came out on HBO about solitary confinement titled “Solitary: Life Inside Red Onion State Prison.” This film shows the ins and outs of life in the hole (aka solitary confinement). Although the film is only about one prison in one state, similar solitary confinement facilities are built and used all around the country and the world. In this filmed, you’re “forced to see the humanity” of the prisoners, which is something I am trying to do with my video project. It shows us what is so common in our prisons today: ” this is what America does with its criminals: locks them up and then releases them, leaving them to their own devices.” Additionally, the article states that solitary confinement and is “an institution that by its very architecture aims to a break a person.”

 

Leave a comment